Skip to page body Home About Us What's New City Government City Services Community Visitors Business How Do I...

City News

News Review
14th Annual Click Off Awards Ceremony
Posted Date: 12/3/2012

Mill Valley Arts Commission announces winners of the Click Off Photography Contest.

The Artist reception will be begin at 6:00pm and
Award recipients will be recognized at  7:00pm,
Tuesday December 4, 2012
at the Mill Valley Community Center 180 Camino Alto.

Winning photos are on display in the lobby of the Community Center
during the month of December 2012, as part of the
Arts Commission’s monthly First Tuesday ArtWalk
Click here to view a slide show of the winners
Art Commission Logo

The Click Off is a digital photo contest sponsored by the Mill Valley Arts Commission, The Image Flow (a photographic learning center) and Strawberry Village Picture Framers. Each participant drew from a hat one of five subject categories. The categories highlighted Mill Valley’s unique characteristics and subsequently revealed each photographer’s perspective. Between November 1-12 contestants, from Mill Valley and elsewhere, took an image that they believed best represented their subject category and received coaching from The Image Flow photographers. Cameras of all kinds were used, including cell phones.

All ages and skill levels were represented among the fifty amateur and professional photographers. Those receiving awards for 1st, 2nd, 3rd and honorable mention in each category received gift certificates. Additionally, a Youth Award for those under 15 and a Best in Show award were given.
Click Off Poster
Art professionals selected the winning images. The jury included Anne Veh, independent curator and owner of Anne Veh Art Consulting, Mill Valley; Nancy Farese, founder of PhotoPhilantrophy, Mill Valley and Michael Rylander, founder of Rylander Design, Mill Valley.
Category: On the Move
First Place: Deborah Martin
Second Place: Mack Gambrell
Third Place: Jairo Criollo
Honorable Mention: Emily Mee

Category: Street Life
First Place and Best of Show: Annie Bates-Winship
Second Place: Dolly McCarthy
Third Place: Jacob Weber
Honorable Mention: Leanne Hansen

Category: The Other Side of Mill Valley
First Place: Phil Shaw
Second Place: Claire Hallet
Third Place: Ethan Sobel
Honorable Mention: Erik Mathon

Category: Unusual Beauty
First Place: Melanie Rovens
Second Place: Patty LaDuke
Third Place: Jeff Harris
Honorable Mention: Laurie Boucher

Category: Abstraction
First Place: Guy Chambers
Second Place: Carol Allen
Third Place: Alexandra Bailliere
Honorable Mention: Austin Brewin

Youth Award
Jacob Taichman

The winning photographs from recent years can be found on the Arts Commission’s Click Off page by clicking here

Robert Kilby
Mill Valley Arts Commissioner